EPTA meeting, 12-16 May 2014
EPTA logo RadioNet logo EU logo

The next EPTA meeting will be held at ASTRON, in the Netherlands, from 12 to 16 May 2014, and is funded by RadioNet.
RadioNet3 has received funding from the European Union's Seventh Framework Programme for research, technological development and demonstration under grant agreement no 283393.


The spring 2014 EPTA meeting will consist talks and discussions from lunchtime on Monday 12 May until the evening of Wednesday 14 May, followed by a tour of the Westerbork Synthesis Radio Telescope on the morning of Thursday 15 May and discussions on collaborative work from lunchtime on Thursday 15 May until the afternoon of Friday 16 May.

Scientific organising committee: Gemma Janssen, Patrick Lazarus, Joris Verbiest, Jason Hessels, Chiara Mingarelli, Cees Bassa, Alberto Sesana
Local organising committee: Gemma Janssen, Roy Smits, Liesbet Elpenhof


Monday 12 May

  • Welcome and introduction of new people/guests
  • S1 13:30-15:00 Timing group results and discussions
    • E/IPTA data combination and release update; status; example (Joris)
    • Update on papers I/II/III (Gregory, Gemma, Nicolas)
    • Disc: work that needs to be done to finish the papers (timing group)
    • Disc/Report: recommendation for data standard to IPTA (Joris)
  • 15:00-16:00 Parallel discussions/coffee
  • S2 16:00-17:30 DA group results and discussions
    • Update on papers IV/V/VI and general DA group (AlbertoS, Lindley, Steve, Antoine)
    • Disc: work that needs to be done to finish the papers (DA group)

Tuesday 13 May

  • S3 09:30-11:00 LEAP
    • Report: progress and paper (Cees and LEAP group)
    • Disc: prospects of continuing LEAP (Michael)
  • 11:00-11:30 Parallel discussions/coffee
  • S4 11:30-13:00 IPTA projects discussions
    • IPTASC report (Jason/Alberto/Ben)
    • Disc: EPTA presence/leadership in current and planned IPTA projects; cross-PTA collaborations (Patrick, Stas, Steve, Lindley)
    • Disc: Global 1713; involvement and plans to lead projects (Ben, David)
  • 13:00-14:00 Lunch
  • S5 14:00-15:30 GW limit improvements
    • Disc:are the new GW limits based on EPTA/IPTA data releases competitive, consistent (AlbertoS)
    • Disc:how to improve the limits (all)
  • 15:30-16:00 Parallel discussions/coffee
  • S6 16:00-17:30 IPTA meeting and IPTA policies discussions
    • Disc: Banff meeting presentations; discussions to be held, what needs to be prepared beforehand (Gemma, AlbertoS)
    • Disc: GWIC detection workshop; presenting IPTA to other collaborations (Jason)
    • Disc: Strategy/policies for GW detection; claims/verification/announcements (AlbertoV)
  • 18:00 Conference Dinner

Wednesday 14 May

  • S7 09:30-11:00: EPTA projects
    • Short talks on ongoing projects (sign up if you want to give a short presentation)
  • 11:00-11:30 Parallel discussions/coffee
  • S8 11:30-13:00 EPTA Observations
    • Report: source list improvements, new sources, collaboration with Fermi/Search/etc (Ismael, Lucas, observers)
    • Report: SRT and APERTIF (Andrea, Delphine, Cees)
    • Disc: what can be expected from the next generation data sets (timing group)
    • New developments in GW science (PTA and outside) (all)
    • SKA science chapters update (Michael, Ben)

  • 13:00-14:00 Lunch
  • S9 14:00-16:00 EPTA general/AOB
    • Disc: ongoing and upcoming projects
    • Disc: EPTA internal issues? next meeting?
    • Disc: goals for next half year
  • 16:00-17:30 WG collaboration time

Thursday 15 May

  • 09:30-13:00 Tour to WSRT
    • WG collaboration time
  • 13:00-14:00 Lunch
  • 14:00-17:30 WG collaboration time

Friday 16 May

  • 09:30-17:30 WG collaboration time

    • Travel information

      The meeting will take place at:

      Oude Hoogeveensedijk 4
      7991 PD Dwingeloo
      The Netherlands

      You can drive there by taking exit 29 (Dwingeloo) from the A28, following the N855 for 4 kilometres, turning left onto Oosteresweg and following this road to ASTRON.

      View Larger Map

      By plane, you can fly to Schiphol (Amsterdam), Groningen (Eelde) or Weeze (Niederrhein) Airports, then catch a train to Hoogeveen and get a taxi or lift to ASTRON.


      Roy Smits
      Gemma Janssen
      Cees Bassa
      Jason Hessels
      Delphine Perrodin
      Kuo Liu
      Steve Taylor
      Lindley Lentati
      Ben Stappers
      Mark Purver
      Sotiris Sanidas
      Alberto Sesana
      Dan Stinebring
      Michael Kramer
      David Champion
      Stefan Oslowski
      Golam Shaifullah
      Joris Verbiest
      Patrick Brem
      Patrick Lazarus
      Andrea Possenti
      Ismael Cognard
      Gilles Theureau
      Antoine Petiteau
      Lucas Guillemot
      Nicolas Caballero
      Gregory Desvignes
      Stas Babak
      Pablo Rosado
      Alberto Vecchio
      K.J. Lee
      Eleni Graikou
      Max Imgrund